Hawaiian Pizza-Inspired Toastie

I know I keep on posting different variations of a cheese toast as of late…I do apologise about this, but I guess it just reflects what I like eating at the moment. Currently, quick and tasty food is what excites me. With a little toddler that needs constant attention (he is at the climbing and exploring age…), I don’t have too much time to cook but then again I want something that I can rustle up with stuff that is lying in the kitchen. Hence the reliance on simple things that I can rustle up quickly for lunch, whilst keeping a firm eye on my little boy.

I love Hawaiian pizza; that combo of sweet pineapple with salty ham is a definite winner for me. It is something that divides opinion, you either love it or loathe it, and for me it is absolutely the former. I had a few pieces of pineapple left over (from the fresh fruit I try to feed my son) and rather than throw it away I wanted to use it for something. It is the type of ingredient that I will only have rarely, so the perfect opportunity to use it for something I am not usually able to make. Then the idea of a ham and pineapple toastie hit me and I was adamant that I would try it out (surely it would work..?) and lo and behold, it was heavenly. So good, in fact, that I had it again the following day. I wouldn’t go out and purchase an entire pineapple to rustle up one cheese toast, but this it the perfect way to use any excess that you might not feel like eating but are reluctant to let go to waste.

This toast gave me a lot of the same taste sensations that I get with eating a slice of Hawaiian pizza. Plus, it is healthier – having a slice of granary bread as a base instead of a white-carby pizza base. It is definitely something that I will rustle up again if I happen to have the correct ingredients lying about.

Ingredients

Makes 1 toast

photo (8)

  • 1 slice of granary bread
  • A small chunk of fresh pineapple (1 inch cube is enough), cut into small dices
  • A small piece of mozzarella, torn into small pieces
  • Some grated mature cheddar cheese
  • Black pepper to taste
  • Sprinkle of oregano
  • Sprinkle of chilli powder/flakes
  • Half a slice of good quality ham, torn  up into small pieces
  • 1 tsp tomato puree

Method

  1. Firstly, lightly toast your bread in a toaster…and preheat medium grill.
  2. Place the toast on a piece of foil on a baking tray. On top of the bread, spread the tomato puree evenly. Sprinkle with black pepper and oregano.
  3. Now top with the grated mature cheddar, then the ham and pineapple. Layer the pieces of mozzarella over the top, evenly distributed. Then sprinkle some more black pepper, oregano and chilli powder to taste.
  4. Now just pop under the grill until the cheese has properly melted.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Leyla says:

    this looks and sounds amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

