Hummus Bros – Hummus Bowl with Tabouleh and Falafel

Hummus Bros is somewhere I frequent when I am around central London. It is a fast food restaurant providing a healthy, quick and affordable food option in a simple setting. On this occasion, I went to their Soho branch – nestled in the bustle of Wardour Street.

hbros sign
They cater for both the veggies and meat-eaters among us

I have had their hummus bowls a few times previously, which come in either small or regular sizes; a bowl of hummus with a range of set topping options served with a warm pitta (two if you get the regular size.) I ordered a small bowl with an aloe vera juice (a refreshing beverage sweetened with grape and honey.) This was enough to fill me up for lunch.

my plate hbros
A simple, cheap and healthy lunch

Hummus sounds so boring, doesn’t it? But something simple can sometimes be just what one craves…and there are some tasty toppings on offer too, from sautéed chicken to beef stew.

hbros close up.jpg
A nice mix of textures with the crunchy tabouleh salad

My lunch with juice cost me £7.20; £5.15 for the hummus bowl with a falafel and tabouleh salad (which comes with a pitta) and £2.05 for the small glass of aloe vera juice. This seems like a reasonable price for a filling lunch and drink which are healthy and taste good – all served in the heart of London. I have been there many times before and I will continue to visit in the future. Beware though, because in the past, I have found that the prices (for the same dishes) are hiked when served as part of the evening menu…go there for lunch instead! They have a few branches dotted around London…check them out as you may be pleasantly surprised. The fact that they are always quite busy surely is a good sign… 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

